The 2019 Royal LePage Market Survey Forecast was released to the media.

Key highlights from the national release include:

  • According to the 2019 Royal LePage Market Survey Forecast released today, home prices across the country are expected to appreciate at a low single digit rate in 2019. Nationally, the median price of a home is forecast to increase slightly by 1.2 per cent to $638,257.
  • The 2019 market owes its tepid pace to a host of uncertainties beyond the price overshooting of recent years. This includes slowly rising interest rates, global trade risks, the persistently low price of Canadian export oil, and regulatory intervention, particularly in British Columbia.
  • When comparing major metropolitan regions nationwide, the median price of a home in the Greater Montreal Area is expected to see the largest gains, with home prices expected to rise by 3.0 per cent to $421,306.

A big thank you to all of our spokespeople from across the country for their contributions in providing regional perspectives. Regional insights can be found within the national release.

Media coverage

Consumers, organizations and the media turn to Royal LePage as a trusted source for expert commentary. So far today we have achieved great media coverage, including:

The Globe and Mail: https://www.theglobeandmail.com/business/article-two-realty-firms-see-modest-growth-for-canadian-housing-prices-in-2019/
Consumers, organizations and the media turn to Royal LePage as a trusted source for expert commentary. So far today we have achieved great media coverage, including:

Toronto Star via The Canadian Press: https://www.thestar.com/business/2018/12/11/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-say-remax-and-royal-lepage.html

Ottawa Citizen: https://ottawacitizen.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/ca5577be-3034-44d1-8efc-ce018b309616

Calgary Herald: https://calgaryherald.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/ca5577be-3034-44d1-8efc-ce018b309616

Vancouver Sun: https://vancouversun.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/d0ac09dc-3d81-4954-95f9-77d307ef915e

Edmonton Journal: https://edmontonjournal.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/ca5577be-3034-44d1-8efc-ce018b309616

24 News: http://www.24news.ca/the-news/economic-news/383193-modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage

570 News: https://www.570news.com/2018/12/11/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/

660 News: https://www.660citynews.com/2018/12/11/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/

680 News: https://www.680news.com/2018/12/11/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/

Barrie Today: https://www.barrietoday.com/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Bay Today: https://www.baytoday.ca/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Burnaby Now: https://www.burnabynow.com/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Cape Breton Post: https://www.capebretonpost.com/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-267295/

Castanet: https://www.castanet.net/news/Business/244199/Modest-growth-forecasted

Collingwood Today: https://www.collingwoodtoday.ca/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Chronicle Herald: https://www.thechronicleherald.ca/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-267295/

Chronicle Journal: http://www.chroniclejournal.com/business/national_business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-re-max-and-royal/article_38b2c9b8-13b6-5ff6-b148-19f86fda2518.html

CTV News: https://www.ctvnews.ca/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.4213327

CTV News (Business) : https://bc.ctvnews.ca/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.4213305

Dawson Creek Mirror: https://www.dawsoncreekmirror.ca/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Delta Optimist : https://www.delta-optimist.com/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Guelph Today: https://www.guelphtoday.com/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Halifax Today: https://www.halifaxtoday.ca/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Humboldt Journal: https://www.humboldtjournal.ca/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

iHearth Radio/Newstalk 1010: http://www.iheartradio.ca/newstalk-1010/news/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-1.8610130

InfoTel News: https://infotel.ca/newsitem/housing-outlook/cp1060348611

Kamloops Matters: https://www.kamloopsmatters.com/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Kelowna Daily Courier: http://www.kelownadailycourier.ca/business_news/national_business/article_b91bad6c-1752-55e9-9a62-fdbb007ec728.html

Leader Post: https://leaderpost.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/ca5577be-3034-44d1-8efc-ce018b309616

Lethbridge Herald: https://lethbridgeherald.com/business/2018/12/11/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage/

Lillooet News: https://www.lillooetnews.net/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Medicine Hat News: https://medicinehatnews.com/business/2018/12/11/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage/

New Market Today: https://www.newmarkettoday.ca/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

News 1130: https://www.citynews1130.com/2018/12/11/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/

News Optimist: https://www.newsoptimist.ca/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

North Shore News: https://www.nsnews.com/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Orillia Matters: https://www.orilliamatters.com/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Ottawa Matters: https://www.ottawamatters.com/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Prince George Citizen: https://www.princegeorgecitizen.com/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Reston Recorder: https://www.restonrecorder.ca/news/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Richmond News: https://www.richmond-news.com/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Saskatoon StarPhoenix: https://thestarphoenix.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/ca5577be-3034-44d1-8efc-ce018b309616

Sootoday: https://www.sootoday.com/national-business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Souris Plaindealer: https://www.sourisplaindealer.ca/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Squamish Chief: https://www.squamishchief.com/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

The Province: https://theprovince.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/1edba5f5-58c0-4afe-b804-6b0701adc3f2

The Telegram: https://www.thetelegram.com/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-267295/

Times Colonist: https://www.timescolonist.com/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Timmins Today: https://www.timminstoday.com/business-news/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-1155606

Weyburn This Week: https://www.weyburnthisweek.com/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

Windsor Star: https://windsorstar.com/pmn/business-pmn/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage/wcm/ca5577be-3034-44d1-8efc-ce018b309616

Winnipeg Free Press: https://www.winnipegfreepress.com/business/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-remax-and-royal-lepage-502462991.html

Yahoo Finance: https://ca.finance.yahoo.com/news/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-154812231.html

Yorkton This Week: https://www.yorktonthisweek.com/modest-home-price-growth-forecasted-for-2019-re-max-and-royal-lepage-1.23528380

BNN Bloomberg: https://www.bnnbloomberg.ca/the-daily-chase-huawei-bail-hearing-resumes-oil-producers-set-2019-budgets-1.1181462

TVA Nouvelles: https://www.tvanouvelles.ca/2018/12/11/le-marche-montrealais-sera-le-plus-vigoureux-au-pays-selon-royal-lepage

TVA Nouvelles: https://www.tvanouvelles.ca/2018/12/11/des-solutions-pour-acceder-a-la-propriete

Le Journal de Montréal: https://www.journaldemontreal.com/2018/12/11/immobilier-en-2019-le-marche-montrealais-sera-le-plus-vigoureux-au-pays-selon-royal-lepage

La Presse: https://www.lapresse.ca/affaires/economie/immobilier/201812/11/01-5207633-hausse-des-prix-des-maisons-plus-modeste-en-2019-au-pays.php

Winnipeg Sun (also print):  https://winnipegsun.com/news/news-news/home-prices-projected-to-see-healthy-increase

Edmonton Sun: https://edmontonsun.com/news/news-news/home-prices-projected-to-see-healthy-increase/wcm/2f9d5e82-38d3-4c34-8404-a75f232bd390

Global News (Winnipeg): https://globalnews.ca/news/4749870/winnipeg-housing-market/

Global News (Vancouver): https://globalnews.ca/news/4750064/vancouver-housing-prices/

Global News (Toronto): https://globalnews.ca/news/4750827/royal-lepage-expects-regina-housing-prices-to-drop-nearly-5-in-2019/

Westca: http://www.westca.com/News/article/sid=680958/2019%E6%88%BF%E4%BB%B7%E9%A2%84%E6%B5%8B_%E5%A4%A7%E6%B8%A9%E6%BD%9C%E5%8A%9B%E5%8C%BA%E5%9F%9F%E5%9C%A8%E5%93%AA%EF%BC%9F/lang=schinese.html

Singtao (Toronto): http://www.singtao.ca/toronto/3665894/2018-12-11/post-%E6%9C%89%E5%A0%B1%E5%91%8A%E6%8C%87-2019%E5%B9%B4%E5%85%A8%E5%9C%8B%E6%A8%93%E5%83%B9%E5%8F%AA%E6%9C%83%E6%BA%AB%E5%92%8C%E4%B8%8A%E5%8D%87/?variant=zh-hk

Singtao (Calgary): http://www.singtao.ca/calgary/1911619/2018-12-11/post-%E6%9C%89%E5%A0%B1%E5%91%8A%E6%8C%87-2019%E5%B9%B4%E5%85%A8%E5%9C%8B%E6%A8%93%E5%83%B9%E5%8F%AA%E6%9C%83%E6%BA%AB%E5%92%8C%E4%B8%8A%E5%8D%87/?variant=zh-hk

Dushi.singtao: https://dushi.singtao.ca/toronto/%E5%8D%B3%E6%97%B6%E6%96%B0%E9%97%BB/%E6%9C%89%E6%8A%A5%E5%91%8A%E6%8C%87-2019%E5%B9%B4%E5%85%A8%E5%9B%BD%E6%A5%BC%E4%BB%B7%E5%8F%AA%E4%BC%9A%E6%B8%A9%E5%92%8C%E4%B8%8A%E5%8D%87/

Abbotsford News via The Canadian Press: https://www.abbynews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Agassiz-Harrison Observer: https://www.agassizharrisonobserver.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Alberni Valley News: https://www.albernivalleynews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Aldergrove Star: https://www.aldergrovestar.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Arrow Lakes News: https://www.arrowlakesnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Boundary Creek Times: https://www.boundarycreektimes.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Burns Lake Lakes District News: https://www.burnslakelakesdistrictnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Caledonia Courier: https://www.caledoniacourier.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Castlegar News: https://www.castlegarnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Campbell River Mirror: https://www.campbellrivermirror.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Chilliwack Progress: https://www.theprogress.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Cloverdale Reporter: https://www.cloverdalereporter.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Comox Valley Record: https://www.comoxvalleyrecord.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Cranbrook Daily Townsman: https://www.cranbrooktownsman.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Creston Valley Advance: https://www.crestonvalleyadvance.ca/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Eagle Valley News: https://www.eaglevalleynews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Golden Star: https://www.thegoldenstar.net/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Goldstream News Gazette: https://www.goldstreamgazette.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Grand Forks Gazette: https://www.grandforksgazette.ca/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Haida Gwaii Observer: https://www.haidagwaiiobserver.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Hope Standard: https://www.hopestandard.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Houston Today: https://www.houston-today.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Interior News: https://www.interior-news.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Keremeos Review: https://www.keremeosreview.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Kelowna Capital News: https://www.kelownacapnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Kimberley Bulletin: https://www.kimberleybulletin.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Ladysmith Chemainus Chronicle: https://www.ladysmithchronicle.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Lake Country Calendar: https://www.lakecountrycalendar.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Lake Cowichan Gazette: https://www.lakecowichangazette.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Langley Advance: https://www.langleyadvance.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Langley Times: https://www.langleytimes.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows News: https://www.mapleridgenews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Mission City Record: https://www.missioncityrecord.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Nanaimo News Bulletin: https://www.nanaimobulletin.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Nelson Star: https://www.nelsonstar.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

North Delta Reporter: https://www.northdeltareporter.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Northern Sentinel: https://www.northernsentinel.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Northern View: https://www.thenorthernview.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

North Island Gazette: https://www.northislandgazette.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Oak Bay News: https://www.oakbaynews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Parksville Qualicum Beach News: https://www.pqbnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Peace Arch News: https://www.peacearchnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Peninsula News Review: https://www.peninsulanewsreview.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Revelstoke Review: https://www.revelstokereview.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Rossland News: https://www.rosslandnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Saanich News: https://www.saanichnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Salmon Arm Observer: https://www.saobserver.net/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Similkameen Spotlight: https://www.similkameenspotlight.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Sooke News Mirror: https://www.sookenewsmirror.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Summerland Review: https://www.summerlandreview.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Surrey Now-Leader : https://www.surreynowleader.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Terrace Standard: https://www.terracestandard.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

The Free Press: https://www.thefreepress.ca/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Tofino-Ucluelet Westerly News: https://www.westerlynews.ca/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Vanderhoof Omineca Express: https://www.ominecaexpress.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Victoria News : https://www.vicnews.com/news/b-c-s-skyrocketing-real-estate-market-will-correct-in-2019-analyst/

Contact us today for all your Real Estate needs.  Kathy & Dave – “Strength in Teamwork”.  See our blog for other interesting articles:  www.kathyanddave.ca

If you’re interested in learning more about the current housing market in the Niagara region, we would be happy to have a chat with you and answer any questions you may have. Come in for a visit or give us a call! It would be our pleasure to show you how selling your home in the current market could increase your financial gain.